Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes Set Specifications

Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

This set references directly back to The Conan Doyle stories that make up “The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes” A working knowledge of this book is essential to work on the set. To make that absolutely clear: If you draw a specific image from a story in another book it will NOT be in this set. You can however include non story specific art ie: shots of locations and people. We are looking for your own interpretation of the characters and situations described in the story, this leaves a lot of options open including new concept art or something with a more classic feel to it.  We need a range of images from the different chapters and scenarios of the book.

Because the Conan Doyle chronology is mixed up in terms of story dates we opted to put the stories in order of first publication. Many of our illustrators may not know this but  The Adventure of the Cardboard Box was in fact published in 1892 and should be included in the Memoirs. US editions normally publish this in “His last Bow” but it was originally printed after The Silver Blaze. You will find the stories included in this set listed in order at the end of this document. Don’t forget this book introduces Moriarty!

Content restrictions: Please do not draw exact images or actors from films or other derivative materials, these may well be under copyright. That’s not to say you can’t pay homage to your favourite ideas but please make them your own in some distinct way or we will be unable to use them in the set. Remember this set is about your interpretation and style.

If you are doing multiple panel cards please let us know, we keep these cards together in the packs so we must make allowances for this. You can illustrate any way you like, and in any medium, just have fun and lets see what you can do!

Here are some helpful links but more can be found online.

The Stories used in this card set are listing in order of publication below:

“Silver Blaze”

“The Adventure of the Cardboard Box”

“The Adventure of the Yellow Face”

“The Adventure of the Stockbroker’s Clerk”

“The Adventure of the Gloria Scott”

“The Adventure of the Musgrave Ritual”

“The Adventure of the Reigate Squire”

“The Adventure of the Crooked Man”

“The Adventure of the Resident Patient”

“The Adventure of the Greek Interpreter”

“The Adventure of the Naval Treaty”

“The Final Problem”

Good Luck!

Leave a Reply